greenavocado.jpg

Leniency with Buddha’s diet varies from day to day. Sometimes Winifred is very specific about what I’m supposed to feed him. Like “sauteed broccoli, cottage cheese, pear and half a banana.” Other times, she’s more permitting and just indicates colors instead of actual foods. Like “he’s had orange. give him green and yellow.” And then sometimes I’m simply told what he’s not allowed to eat, like “bread, banana, apple sauce, pear, strawberries or oatmeal” and I’m left to choose from among any remaining food items. And then other times she spaces completely and I’m left to guess and hope that what I give him isn’t taboo today.

I was recently left with vague instructions indicating that I “push greens.” No, this is not drug lingo, it’s simply Winifred speak for give him green food to eat.

Rummaging through the fridge I decided that avocado on bread was a quick way to get some carbs and some greens into him. He loves bread and he likes avocado, so it worked out. I also fed him some humus as well as a pear. Overall, just an ordinary meal for little Buddha.

Upon her return, I was asked about Buddha’s lunch. I told her (despite the fact that I had written it all down on the list) and was met with disgust for hadn’t she told me to push greens?

Bewildered, I paused for a moment, trying to figure out if I had suddenly developed color blindness or if she simply hadn’t heard me properly.

Neither. Turns out “avocado doesn’t count because it’s a fruit.”

Duh.

