Well, I survived my first day of work. Eleven and a half hours. I’m actually feeling really good about this. I was getting a little worried because the current (almost former) nanny is like superwoman. She’s been working 50 hours a week despite the fact that she has walking pneumonia. She runs the household with grace and dignity and is incredibly wise. I know I can do a good job but there’s no way in hell I can do everything that this woman does. But anyway, it was a good day. She’s awesome about giving me all the ins and outs of the job and about sharing responsibilities. Truly, she’s phenomenal. So while I may feel a bit inadequate next to her, I know that she’s preparing me very well for this and I’m so grateful. In other good news, I received my first birdy today as I was trying to make a left hand turn. I’m oddly proud of this. I feel like I’ve been officially indoctrinated as a New Yorker somehow.

